CAR SEAT LOANER PROGRAM

The Sun City Fire and Medical Department (SCFMD) Child Passenger Safety Program teaches parents, grandparents, and caregivers how to properly install child safety seats into their vehicle. SCFMD also loans child car seats to the residents of the Fire District on a temporary basis.

To request an appointment with a Car Seat Technician or to participate in the loaner program, please call (623) 974-2321.

Did you know …

  • The number one killer of children in Arizona is motor vehicle crashes?
  • One simple item could help save countless children is a properly installed child safety seat?
  • Four out of every five child car seats are installed incorrectly?
  • One third of children are riding in the wrong restraints for their age and size?
  • Over 1/3 of children use the wrong restraint for their size and age?
  • Children 5-8 years old should be riding in belt-positioning booster seats?

If you see an unbuckled child in a moving vehicle, call 1-800-505-BABY, be prepared to provide:

  • the license number and state on the car,
  • the city where the violation occurred,
  • the location of the child (front seat, driver’s lap, etc.)

The vehicle owner will receive a letter saying that an unbuckled child was observed, and that the law requires children under five to be properly secured. The letter is not a ticket, but serves as a chance to inform the owner of the vehicle about keeping children safe in the car.

For more information please visit the Arizona Government of Highway Safety.

Sun City
89°
Clear
05:1919:42 MST
Feels like: 89°F
Wind: 12mph SW
Humidity: 18%
Pressure: 29.69"Hg
UV index: 0
23h0h1h
87°F
86°F
84°F
FriSatSun
min 75°F
97/71°F
99/72°F

How Do I… ?

Click Here for the Safety Checklist mentioned in the video